Not just Indians but NOT Indians also speak my mother tongue

Shruti Pandey
Aug 16, 2023

--

You know, how?
Hanuman Chalisa.

Yes, it’s written in Awadhi, my native tongue.

I’m grateful to my grandfather, “Babaji”,
for this one thing,
that when I was little, he would make me sit down and learn Sanskrit shlokas, mantras, Hanuman Chalisa etc.

And being the eldest ( read guinea pig )
I always obliged and learnt.

But neither my brother nor my uncle’s kids ever sat down with Babaji to learn any of it.

It was while watching a hindi movie in a theatre, where the guy cracked a joke of not learning Hanuman Chalisa, made me realise most people still don’t know or learn it.

PS: every Hanuman Jayanti, till date, my father distributes Hanuman Chalisa books.

After all the fruit hasn’t fallen off,
I decided to do a virtual distribution today :) 🙏🏻

--

--